The Scrapheap

Alan Rayner
1 min readOct 23, 2021

--

The Scrapheap’ (ink and watercolour sketch on paper by Alan Rayner, 2021)

‘You don’t want to end up here’

My father said

With mournful eyes

After years of striving

To make his mark

Undermined by lack of dare

In a world where reckless wins

And caution misses out

.

I took his words to heart

As I set out on my way

To bring some light to fading day

Striving in my turn

To do some good in rotten world

Not holding back
Despite my fear of failure
.
Now, here I am
After years of striving
To make my contribution
Deep in this pile of broken promises

Undermined by lack of snare

In a world where Authority figures

And birthing ground’s missed out

While all and sundry turn a blind eye

To what gets up their noses

.

And the gurus tell me

For my piece of mind

To forget where I’ve been

And where I might go

Just live in the Now

In this residue from sacred cow

.

--

--

Alan Rayner

Alan Rayner is an evolutionary ecologist, writer and artist, who is pioneering the philosophy of natural inclusion